Departure For Japan

Friday 23rd November 2012

6:00 am:

I woke up and went straight to the bathroom feeling incredibly stressed because of what’s to come.
Left the house at 7:30 am.

Auntie told me the route to take to go Heathrow Airport (Victoria Line followed by the Piccadilly Line)

Arrived at Terminal 3 around 10 o’clock, I was very impressed by the size of Virgin Terminal.

Got my bags weighed and to my surprise my backpack was 14kg (maximum limit of 23kg allowed) and my hand luggage 10kg (maximum limit of 7kg allowed). The lady insisted on me redistributing the weight, re-packing and weighing again on the scale machine was a mission. After the struggle of re-packing everything it was still not good. Another lady helped me and I explained to her that the only thing weighing too much is my luggage itself and she saw that nothing was in it so she fortunately let me through. The distress on my face kinda helped haha.

I had to leave my Mushaf (Qur’an) in my backpack I was devastated (a message to all muslims if you carry a Mushaf (Qur’an) with you guys, bring the pocket edition lol).

Went through security after getting my boarding pass, asked for my films to be hand checked but said no problems if the films are below 3200 ASA/ISO so trusted her as it was my first time through the X-ray.

10:45 am: Boarding time!

It was oddly early as the plane was scheduled to leave at 12:00. In next to no time the airport gate was filling up with Japanese people. It was weird being the minority but awesome at the same time.

After a while a Japanese dude came to sit next to me but after take off, his headphones were playing up so they transfered him to another sit which meant I had 2 seats to myself yeahhhhhhh!!!!

Watched a few movies to kill time, made duas, prayed, watching the sunset. Took a few pictures wondering how this adventure was going to turn out!

 

Friday 23rd November 2012

We flew over Norway, Russia, China, Pacific Ocean and finally Japan.

Virgin forgot my Moslem (as they write it) meal so I had to have the vegetarian option which was Macaroni cheese which wasn’t exciting but oh well Al hamdulilah.

I met a young man called Vivek originally from India living in the UK. We discussed photography, he said he was new to it he bought the Nikon D5100 and said it was tricky to use so explained a few things and how to get the most out of his camera but there was only 30 minutes left until landing so couldn’t explain everything..!!!

9:12am: Arrival in Tokyo Narita Airport

Author: Nadeem Karim

| London / Paris Photographer - Mu'min |

Leave a Reply

