Japan 2012: The End

Friday 7th December 2012

Not many pictures for this one.

I woke up and grabbed all my stuff and made my way to Tokyo. As I left I connected in Nagoya.

 

As I couldn’t do Jumuah I had to pray Dhuhr on my own in the Shinkansen as there was no choice.

I arrived at my friend’s place (he was at work) and started packing everything that I had left behind because it was my last day. I couldn’t help but feeling very emotional, I spoke on skype to my cousin in Mauritius then my brother and then my mum.

I left to town trying to find a present for my sister so I went to Ikebukuro and went into the mall and everything was like £500 for the scarves and everything. I would never ever spend this much on a scarf even in UK lol. I left the building and found a very nice corner shop and bought a scarf for my sister.

After these efforts I went to Macdonalds and as the guy served me the walls started shaking and the ground moving. The people around me started screaming so I grabbed the wall and the wall was stretching. It lasted 10 seconds and it’s only after I realized I was in an Earthquake! WOW Subhan Allah I felt so insignificant.

It took me a while to get back to myself as I was in shock and excitement for living such an incredible moment. I ate my food and went to take the train.

The train took 5 hours as all the lines had been destroyed / affected by the earthquake so urgent railwork was happening on the lines. I managed to get to the hotel at 10.20pm.

I checked in and went straight into bed I was so tired from all this, my friend Mike from Birmingham texted me saying there was an earthquake 7.2 on the scale. I could not believe my eyes especially for the fact that the earthquake started in Nagoya where I originally was.

Saturday 8th December 2012

I woke up at 7am and got ready bus was ready to pick me up at 9.30am (the plane was at 12.00)

Checked in and off I was to UK

I arrived in UK at 15:10 the jet lag hit me straight away

It was good to have my phone back and I left the airport with a smile ready to embrace my new life in London!

Subhan Allah Thank you Allah for this amazing trip.

Thanks for reading guys 🙂

Author: Nadeem Karim

| London / Paris Photographer - Mu'min |

2 thoughts on “Japan 2012: The End”

  1. EARTHQUAKE!! I often wonder how that would feel, and I’m not eager to find out. Glad it didn’t affect your travels, and didn’t cause too much damage.

    1. It is so humbling and as I said it shows how arrogant we are doing all this money chasing and wars when one earthquake can destroy us all lol!
      It was so exciting to be in one. Thanks actually it did affect my last journey to the hotel near the airport as most of the train lines were down for repairs. My journey took 5h50 mins instead of 48mins

Leave a Reply

