Istanbul – Day Three

Tuesday 17th February 2015.

For this post, I tried to write less and let the pictures speak for themselves.

I woke up and realised that it was already Tuesday, time went so quick that we were already at the middle of our trip. I always judge the holiday on a time spectrum to see where I am at.

I felt happy that we had achieve so much so far and the next on our list was the beautiful Blue Mosque.

I put a crazy roll of film into my camera: the Rollei Digibase CN200. I had never used that roll before but the results I saw on flickr or tumblr was mind blowing to say the least.

img476

Got ready to go to Aksaray to take the Tramway but to our surprise everything was snowed in

img482

It was a shock to see so much snow and I just couldn’t grasp the coldness of the weather. i said to my brother jokingly: “Hmm I thought you were taking me on Holiday I didn’t ask for Alaska”

img481

img480

I absolutely love this film, it looks so vintage, warm but also cold at the same time

img479

My brother braving through the snow

img478

We arrived at the masjid to pray dhuhr.

img477

It was such an awesome time and we had so much fun with my brother just walking in snow and laughing the whole time.

img484

img486

img487

img488

We were so hungry, we went to get something to eat before we could go to Topkapi Museum

img490

img494

We walked a long and difficult road in the snow to reach the Blue Mosque

img497

img498

The more I was walking towards the mosque the more the snow was falling and it became a blizzard.

img503

It was so snowed in it was crazy!

We entered the masjid for salat ul Asr

img504

A tornado of snow started at the entrance of the masjid

img502

img510 copy

img512

We entered and enjoyed the quick look before the Iqama

img496\ img506

img505

img663

img664

img666

Again the cold breeze of winter travelled through the old mosque and the smell of the carpets really made me feel melancholic. I was starting to imagine what Makkah would be like.

I realised after praying that there were many people looking at us praying and taking pictures.

As we finished we made our way out but this time towards the Topkapi Museum. We walked a long way to get to the entrance to pay.

img507a

This place was stunning and I cried a lot because they displayed many hadiths on beautiful canvases.

img508

That’s how much there was.

img509

We entered another gate and this was where the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him) and His companions (May Allah be pleased with them) belongings were.

It was forbidden to take pictures but I managed to get the sword of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

img520

img513a

This place was so gorgeous in the snow I could barely press the shutter due to the coldness of the weather.

img483

img517

img665

img660 copy

img518

img519

We left the building and finished the tour of the museum ending with a beautiful recitation of the Qur’an.

We made our way to the end of the road to have lunch and towards Emoni as we intended to do the boat trip again.

img492

img493

But to our deception we realised that the last boat had left 20 minutes ago. We took pictures of the timings and decided to do it on Thursday.

We went into a camera place that was filled with 100s of film camera shops. It was insane.

We went back to the hotel to relax as the cold was eating away our body heat.

img499

img500

img501

img491

We stumbled across a market and saw some brothers gathered around a bin set on fire to provide warmth.

img644 copy

img646

img648

img652

img653

img656 copy

We went through the Old Bazaar which was quite beautiful.

img583

img582
After a long walk back from the Blue mosque to Aksaray to go home.

img661

Author: Nadeem Karim

| London / Paris Photographer - Mu'min |

2 thoughts on “Istanbul – Day Three”

  1. I love the cool blues in these pictures and it’s fascinating to see some of these snow-swept images of famous Istanbul sights. You’ve got some great shots here!

Leave a Reply

