Istanbul – Day Five

I was unwell on Day four and we spent time relaxing in the mosques.

Thursday 19th February 2015.

On that day we took off at around 9am to go to Emoni to get the boat as departure was at 12.20. We were aware of the snowy weather but we decided that this wouldn’t stop us.

We arrived in Emoni at around 10.30am which was great because there was plenty of time ahead of us should we loose focus of the time or get lost on our way there.

We didn’t have to top up our istanbul cards as the fares were special fares for the boat ride on the river.
It was absolutely freezing and I recall my Hasselblad not being able to fire on many occasions as the temperature was below zero degree celcius.

We boarded the boat after purchasing the tickets and found a comfortable seat not far from the window.

We left the port and started our journey on the river towards the Asian side of the country

img646

img648

img592

img522 copy

img523 copy

img525 copy

img526a

img528 copy

img529 copy

Samir wanted to stay inside, I left him to go on the deck to take pictures.

img657

img607

img608 copy

img603 copy

img602

img601

Everything was just so frozen

img600

img599

I went to the cabin and took this, I think I wasn’t allowed to do such things but I did. I thought this was never gonna come out right. I was wrong, Fuji Reala is a beast in some situations.

img597

At times I returned back to Samir as it was so cold outside.

img605

img604

After 3 hours of boat ride we stopped on a little Island. I thought that we were going to come back straight away but the captain said that we all had to come out and the next boat would be at 4pm it was then 1pm. My brother was shocked as he just wanted to go home as he was so cold.

img534

img535

img536

img537

img538

img539

img540

img544

We stopped on the Island.

We walked and found some beautiful places to take pictures of.

img594

img595 copy

We walked towards the centre of the Island and a guy talked to us and invited us into the restaurant. We started ordering but the Adhaan was being called so we asked the restaurant if we could go and pray and come back. I think they didn’t believe that we were going to come back.

I couldn’t believe that in such a remote place and far from the capital there would be mosques on deserted island! I was so happy, the mosque was very beautiful and simple.

10 minutes after we came back and the food was ready.

I ordered a beautiful dish of Salad, Sword fish and rice. It was the first time ever that I had tried sword fish and the taste was rather unusual. Needless to say that after a while it became delicious so it was definitely an acquired taste.

They offered us a free salmon soup which was absolutely gorgeous.

img541

img543

img542

img544

We finished and carried on our excursion on the Island and looked at the time and realised it was already almost time to go back.

img596

img593 copy

img602

The weather got so beautiful after and very misty which was so picturesque.

img569

img572

img571
I was taking pictures and all of sudden I saw dolphins. I was so excited and took more pictures.

img570

img573

img577

img576

img567

img566

Just like a movie

img565

My brother trying to make sense of where we’ve been.

img564

img561

img560

I find this picture fantastic and mesmerizing.

img559

img558

img557

img556

img555

img554

img553

img552

img551

img550

img549

img548

img547

It was so cool to see all this area of Turkey.

On way back I took this picture that really took me by surprise when I scanned it.

img649b

We returned back to the hotel after a stunning day out full of surprises.

Author: Nadeem Karim

| London / Paris Photographer - Mu'min |

Leave a Reply

