Last Day in Istanbul

Thursday 20th February 2015.

This day marked the end of my trip in Istanbul and we decided to do the rest of the things we couldn’t do or squeeze in. At that point the snow started melting and it felt good. The warmth came to settle down on this cosy morning and we were blessed with a beautiful breakfast. We went back to sleep for an hour and woke up to get ready to go for Salat ul Jumuah (friday prayer).

We walked our usual way up the hill but we were confused on the time of the prayer so we ended up getting there too early. It didn’t matter as we engaged in extra salawat and dhikr. Al hamdulilah it felt good. We went to Sehzade Cami to assist and perform Jumuah. We arrived and there were hardly anyone as we were so early. Our intention was to go for Jumuah in the Blue Mosque but it was way too far and we didn’t know the exactitude of prayer time.

img453

img454

img455

img456

I didn’t understand anything of the Khutba (sermon) as it was in Turkish but it was an incredible experience.

img581

We finished the salat and greeted many brothers.

We decided to have lunch.

img450

img452

We then walked to Suleymanye Cami as we still didn’t manage to go there.

My brother wasn’t feeling right so he left me to go back to the hotel.

I carried on my journey into discovering new sights of Istanbul on my own.

img451

img459

A few Syrian kids came to beg on that side of the city which broke my heart as they were asking for money or selling tissue packs in the cold and snow. May Allah give them sustenance. Ameen

img461

I came across this rooftop and it was hard to take pictures with the Hasselblad but I tried my best.

img585 copy

img587

After that I went back to Hotel as the weather was getting very bad and it started snowing again.

I found my brother in bed just relaxing. I ate so biscuits and spoke to my mum on Skype.

It was already time for Asr so we quickly got to the Masjid and made our way back to the old Bazaar to say Salam to Zacharia and Basher. Ah I miss them so much

img588

img589

img591 copy

This shop is amazing! The food was delicious and this brothers spoke French to us it was amazing. We spoke altogether to manage a communication….French, English and Arabic haha! Al hamdulilah

Samir and I were feeling really hungry so we went for Maghrib salah and then to eat our last dinner.

The day before I had asked Yassir, Medhat and Alaa if we could come to the restaurant one last time. They said yes. Although I was so tired we spent a lovely evening there.

img473

img472

img471

img468

We walked to the Restaurant and Alaa was so happy to see us. We spent a good 3 hours chatting and laughing. I didn’t feel happy like that amongst friends for such a long time.

I was craving a nice dessert after our tea that Alaa offered us so Yassir took us across the street for amazing cakes. We came back with so much cake it was insane 🙂

img467

img466

img465

It was getting late and we had to leave. We said our Salam which was hard after such a lovely week with amazing people. I was happy!

img464

img463

Yassir walked us back to the hotel.

img462

Saturday 21st February 2015.

We woke up early to take our trip back to London.

img478

img477

img476

img475

Assalam Aleikoum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuhu Istanbul! I will see you soon.

 

Author: Nadeem Karim

| London / Paris Photographer - Mu'min |

2 thoughts on “Last Day in Istanbul”

  1. SelamunAleykum Dear Brother;
    I’m really happy to read all of this journals. I think, Istanbul is a beatiful place for taste any kind of emotions. My dream was living there and when i started university, i can’t get in there. But sometimes i visit. And now, i’m sitting a room at construction. I’ll start an internship 3rd Bosphorus Bridge called “Yavuz Sultan Selim Bridge” which Ottomans’ most successfull sultan.(in my opinion that success part) Not for so much time but i think it’ll be good. I wanted to share this and say your trip and writing was so inspiring. Photos also! May be Allah with you and your family as well. Have a nice day and Ramadan Mubarak! ^-^

    1. Wa Aleikoum salam warahmatullahi Wabarakatuhu! JazakAllah khair akhi. May I start by wishing you a successful Ramadan. Let’s make the most out of it and obtain His pleasure.
      May Allah be pleased with you.

      BarakAllah Oufik for reaching out to me it means a lot.

      Thank you so much for taking time to read my travels. Istanbul is indeed beautiful and Insha Allah I will try to come back one day.

      Masha Allah for the new project may Allah make you successful.

      Ameen

      Subhan Allah your message really touched my heart. Wa iyyak ya akhi 🙂

      All the best.

      Masalama

      Brother Nadeem

Leave a Reply

