Mauritius: Day Seven

Tuesday 21st July 2015

I woke up early at 7.30 to get ready to go to Port-louis. Everyone got up and got ready to start the day at 9 rather than 2pm.

Got ready packed up a few more rolls of 120. I eventually got over my broken camera (olympus) because I knew that I had my Canon FD 35mm 2.8. to fall back on.

I was upset because mju ii was supposed to be for La Réunion.

My cousin responded really well to the early start request and living the house early at 9pm. We stopped at Super U to pack on goodies for our long excursion and journey into Port-louis.

img399

img400

img401 img402

img392
img416

I waited for the bus 215 express and nearly got run over and an old lady shouted at me which made me move out of the way in time. We boarded and the air con suddenly turned on. I hate air con as it makes me cold unnaturally and my body doesn’t react well to it so I started feeling sick. The buses were not very nice and I was being thrown all over the place. I started feeling ill. I tried to change seats as maybe that would have made a difference but no avail. I recited some duas and I fell asleep. It wasn’t hard to nap as I only had 4 hours sleep the night before.

img403 copy

img413

img411

img410

We arrived in Port-louis and started by china town which was amazing because of the culture shock. You don’t really expect to see so many Chinese people on a majorotarily black island. This excursion was followed by the need to take long road that led to chinese shops. I can almost feel the smell of the bricks writing this.

img183

img184

img185 copy

I bought some green tea as I was not well and the only thing that could settle my stomach was green tea.

img339

We walked quite far and all of a sudden a guy saw my Rolleicord around my neck and said: “Hasselblad?” I replied laughing: “No, zis Rolleicord sa!” (No, just Rolleicord”), he said: “wow”. I told him I had Hasselblad as well but it was well too big and heavy to carry round so I preferred getting my Rolleicord with me. We had a chat after he offered us some nice biscuits chatting about cameras. Before departing I asked him where I could go to the mountains from there. He suggested that we go straight on the main road. He advised us that there was the most ancient mosque in Port-louis it was actually the first mosque ever called Masjid Al Aqsa. His name was Nassim, a very lovely guy.

img179 copy

At that point we were feeling so weak because the sun was at its zenith and we had to wear our caps. We were feeling so dehydrated. It was supposed to be winter with 32°C weather.

img178 copy

img180

We started walking far and we arrived at the very end of the road to get to the mountain but we had to give up since we had to enter people’s private properties in order to get into the base of the mountain which we were certainly not ready to do.

img408

img405

img407

img406

We got lost badly in Port-louis but took opportunity to pray in many mosques. My dream shot came true when I managed to get a picture of people praying. I never get to get these shots since I am always amongst the people praying so I can’t take the shots. On this instance I had already prayed. We hit the KFC then visited my auntie.

img326

img328

img316

img317

I stopped at Mimosa to get some rolls of films developped and I couldn’t believe that it cost 50 mru (under a pound) to get stuff processed and it was free to scan with Fuji Frontier. I was so happy.

img318

img319\ img315

img311

img321

We went through different back streets trying to find our way back but in vain so we took opportunity of the situation to discover what we didn’t know.

img175

img176

img177

The neighbourhood was stunning, the architecture was reminiscing of old China mixed with Africa and India.

img323

img322

img325

img329

We hit the famous Bazar then straight into the Express to get back to Grand Baie. We went to Goodlands to relax and see the family.

img333

img332

img334

The traffic was heavy and I fell asleep again.

img331

img338

img342

img343

img344

img345

img341

What a day it was!

img382

img384

img388

img387

img390

img393

img394a

Author: Nadeem Karim

| London / Paris Photographer - Mu'min |

Leave a Reply

